22 Latinos were invited to join the exclusive Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Academy invites 22 Latinos to join its ranks

What do Rosario Dawson, Jennifer Lopez, and Danny Trejo all have in common? These three stars have just received one of the most exclusive invitations in Hollywood.

Dawson, Lopez and Trejo are just a few of the 22 Latino celebrities to be invited by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences to join its ranks. Filmmakers who accept the invitations will be able to vote on the recipients of the next Academy Awards, set for March 2, 2014.

The admission of 22 Latinos comes after the National Hispanic Foundation for the Arts (NHFA) partnered with the Academy to ask for greater Latino representation within the organization. The partnership was sparked after an outcry from the Latino community when the Academy left out Lupe Ontiveros from the “In Memoriam” tribute at the Oscars in February. Ontiveros starred in movies like “The Goonies” and “As Good As It Gets.”

RELATED: Lupe Ontiveros omitted from Oscar memorial ignites controversy 

“Doors that were once shut to Latinos are opening due in large part to the collaborative partnerships NHFA has established” said Felix Sanchez, NHFA Chairman and co-founder. “It is our hope that these new memberships will enrich the Oscar nomination and award process.”

A 2012 LA Times study of Oscar voters found that 94 percent of the Academy’s 5,765 members are Caucasian and 77 percent male, with Latino members comprising less than 2 percent of total membership. A total of 276 filmmakers were invited to join the Academy on Friday.

Below is a  list of all 22 Latinos, from both in front of and behind the camera, invited to the Academy.


Miriam Colon – “City of Hope,” “Scarface”

Rosario Dawson – “Rent,” “Frank Miller’s Sin City”

Jennifer Lopez – “What to Expect When You’re Expecting,” “Selena”

Alma Martinez – “Born in East L.A.,” “Under Fire”

Michael Peña – “End of Watch,” “Crash”

Geno Silva – “Mulholland Drive,” “Amistad”

Danny Trejo – “Machete,” “Heat”


Checco Varese – “Girl in Progress,” “The Aura”

Costume Designers

Paco Delgado – “Les Misérables,” “Biutiful”


Pablo Larraín – “No,” “Tony Manero”


Rebecca Cammisa – “God Is the Bigger Elvis,” “Which Way Home”

Eduardo Coutinho – “As Canções,” “Cabra Marcado Para Morrer (Twenty Years Later)”

Patricio Guzmán – “Nostalgia for the Light,” “The Battle of Chile”

José Padilha – “Secrets of the Tribe,” “Bus 174 (Ônibus 174)”

Renee Tajima-Pena – “Who Killed Vincent Chin?,” “My America (Or Honk If You Love Buddha)”

Makeup Artists and Hairstylists

Luisa Abel – “The Dark Knight Rises,” “Inception”

Kim Santantonio – “Gangster Squad,” “Frost/Nixon”


Victoria Alonso

Mindy Marin


Cliff Martinez – “Drive,” “Traffic”


Jose Antonio Garcia – “Argo,” “Babel”

Edward J. Hernandez – “Real Steel,” “Basic Instinct”

%d bloggers like this: