An undated photo of Pittsburgh Pirates Roberto Clemente. (Photo by Janis E. Rettaliata/Sporting News via Getty Images)

2013 Roberto Clemente Award nominees announced

Today — Roberto Clemente Day — honors Puerto Rican baseball player legend and humanitarian, Roberto Clemente. He was a right fielder with the Pittsburgh Pirates from 1955 through 1972, and he was also the first Hispanic to win a World Series as a starter, to receive an MVP Award, and to a World Series MVP Award. He passed away, at 38, en route to deliver aid to earthquake victims in Nicaragua in 1972, when his plane crashed immediately after takeoff.

Originally known as the Commissioner’s Award since 1971, the award is given annually to the Major League Baseball (MLB) player “who demonstrates the values Clemente displayed in his commitment to community and understanding the value of helping others” was renamed the Roberto Clemente Award in 1973. Each club nominates a player in September, and the winner is selected from 30 nominees during the World Series.

The 2013 Roberto Clemente Award nominees were announced Monday, and eight of the 30 nominees are Latino:

Chicago White Sox: Hector Santiago
Cincinnati Reds: Bronson Arroyo
Detroit Tigers: Miguel Cabrera
Houston Astros: Jose Altuve
Los Angeles Dodgers: Adrian Gonzalez
St. Louis Cardinals: Carlos Beltran
Seattle Mariners: Raul Ibañez
Toronto Blue Jays: J.P. Arencibia

Fans will be allowed to vote on, beginning September 17 — Roberto Clemente Day.

RELATED: Roberto Clemente, Jr. remembers his dad, the baseball legend

%d bloggers like this: